Author Archive

Vitrue’s New Platform: Enhanced for Open Graph Publishing

Tuesday, July 27th, 2010

Last week Vitrue completed a major upgrade to the Social Relationship Management 2.0 platform. This included a very powerful enhancement for marketers in our flagship product, the Vitrue Publisher. I’m excited to announce our enhanced support for Open Graph publishing and explain how marketers can take advantage of this new and exciting way to segment their fans.

The Facebook Open Graph protocol was announced back in April and allows marketers to create “Like” buttons for individual objects, and not just Facebook pages. You’ve probably seen the Like Button in use on blogs, like this one or even articles on CNN. And while this is a great way to surface content into Facebook, recent developments in the Graph API create so much more potential in the Open Graph than simply sharing articles!

By creating “Like” Buttons (the technical term is “Open Graph objects”) for your products, market segments, and individual store locations, you create a way for existing and prospective customers to Like those individual elements wherever they may appear in your web content—not just on your Facebook page.

How This Benefits Major Marketers

If this seems a little confusing, let’s take a real-world example. The Ford Motor Company could create “Like” Buttons for its different models (19 is my quick count). They also could create “Like” Buttons for different vehicle segments like Hybrid, Trucks, Crossovers, and SUVs; and even customer segments like Youth, Sports, and Racing.

As customers interact with the content and click the “Like” Buttons associated with their particular preferences, a powerful, segmented, “graph” emerges. But for that graph to be useful, Ford in this example would need to have:

  1. A clear definition of the graph objects it wishes to create;
  2. A system to manage the deployment and use of the various graph objects
  3. A way to manage and publish content to Facebook users who have Liked the different graph objects

Vitrue’s Publisher, enhanced to support the Open Graph, accomplishes all three of those things!

Marketers can log in to Vitrue’s easy-to-use Publisher to create and manage Open Graph objects, and publish content to people who Like those objects which will appear in the news feeds of the fans. They can do this with the same ease and power they have come to expect when using the Vitrue Publisher to manage their Facebook pages.

Marketers can create a message and target it to the people who “Like” a specific Object, or can broadcast it to those who”Like” many different Objects, all with a simple click.

In the example below, the Vitrue Publisher is managing 3 graph objects and a Facebook page.

Click Image to Enlarge

Click Image to Enlarge

Extending to Local

Another incredible application of the Open Graph functionality is localization of content for major Quick-Serve Restaurants, Franchisers, and Retailers. As the industry leader in Facebook Tab localization (and the first to introduce Global) we are now helping brands extend/build local strategies around the Open Graph.

Creating Open Graph objects for retail locations, agents, branches, DMA, zip codes or regions creates a powerful network of “Likes”. Using Vitrue’s Publisher to manage these Objects takes the daunting task of managing hundreds or even thousands of items and makes it manageable for the marketer. Marketers can also surface “Likes” on existing Facebook pages using the Vitrue Tabs product and integrate their existing Facebook localization strategies.

open

Other Features

The enhancements we launched to our product platform go far beyond just Open Graph publishing and we’ll cover those additional features in a separate blog post.

One final thing I’d like to update you about, are changes to our product names. Our former Vitrue SRM and FMS products have now been renamed to Vitrue Publisher and Vitrue Tabs, respectively. The Publisher and Tab products join our Apps and Mobile products to make a holistic social media marketing toolkit known as Vitrue’s Social Relationship Management Platform (SRM).

Do you have plans to leverage the Open Graph for your market? How would you segment your fans to create conversation? Leave a comment below and join the conversation.

  • Share/Bookmark

Engaged Brands Make Engaged Fans

Tuesday, June 15th, 2010

The popularity of the Vitrue Evaluator has been fantastic. In recent days we’ve helped over 30,000 marketers determine a Facebook ROI calculation on their Pages. After analyzing so many Facebook Pages, we found ourselves with a ton of valuable data. So I thought we would share some of the most interesting insights.

While we dive into the details of our data, I’d like to address the question of post frequency. According to the Vitrue Evaluator, we recommend brands strive to make two posts per day. We’ve received feedback from some brands questioning the frequency implying that it’s too much, while other brands are successfully posting 5 or more times per day. Ultimately the optimal post frequency will vary for each brand, but high frequencies are proving to produce engaged fans. Let’s take a look at some stats:

Out of the 30,000+ Pages evaluated, we narrowed our sample down to those Pages who are actively posting to their fans, at least 1 wall post per week. For now, let’s call these page owners Active Posters. Looking at the Active Posters, focused our sample to around 21,000 pages.

Active Posters produce an average of 1.37 wall posts per day. Honestly, that’s not far from Vitrue’s recommended 2 posts per day strategy. We typically recommend reaching fans in the late morning hours and then again in the early evening.

Digging deeper into the data we can see even greater evidence for a two-post-a-day strategy:

Fan Posts, Likes and Comments
The following charts depicts the three most important Fan engagements against the Page engagement (wall posts). We see that brands who post more then twice a day have significantly higher Fan Posts and Likes. While brands posting at least 1 per day see the highest amount of comments. That’s logical based on the simplicity of Liking a post vs. writing a comment.
Brand Engagement vs. Fan Engagement

Fan Post Rate is the number of fan posts, divided by the number of fans
Like Index is a score based on the number of Likes per Page Post per Fans
Comment Index is a score based on the number of Comments per Page Post per Fans

So in summary, our data shows the more active a brand, the more engaged the fans - pure and simple. When a brand posts about two times a day, it leads to higher Likes, comments and fan posts. Let’s not forget Likes and comments increase the likelihood of your page’s post appearing in the newsfeed. Similarly, Fan Posts appear in the Fans’ streams, creating more viral awareness for your page.

All three of these fan engagements - Likes, comments and fan posts are used to determine Facebook Page value in the Vitrue Evaluator. If you haven’t seen what your Facebook Page is worth, you can do so for free at http://evaluator.vitrue.com

What’s your post frequency? Are you successfully posting 2+ times per day? Share your experience by leaving a comment and join the conversation.

  • Share/Bookmark

Vitrue Announcing iAd Development

Thursday, June 10th, 2010

At this year’s WWDC Apple announced their new iAd Network would debut in July and major brands have already committed $60 million over the past 8 weeks. The list of brands, many whom Vitrue is familiar with include: AT&T, Best Buy, Campbell Soup Company, Chanel, Citi, DirecTV, GEICO, GE, JCPenney, Liberty Mutual Group, Nissan, Sears, State Farm, Target, Turner Broadcasting System, Unilever and The Walt Disney Studios.

So you may be wondering what exactly is an iAd?

“iAd offers advertisers the emotion of TV with the interactivity of the web, and offers users a new way to explore ads without being hijacked out of their favorite apps,” said Steve Jobs, Apple’s CEO.

iAd, which is built into iOS 4, allows users to stay within their app while engaging with the ad, even while watching a video, playing a game or using in-ad purchase to download an app or buy iTunes® content.

In a nutshell, iAds are very similar to the apps we see and build everyday on Facebook. Engaging apps like coupons, polls, and contests will find their way into iAds. You can leverage video, images, maps, social networking and many of the unique iPhone features.

While not as extensive as Facebook’s reach and targeting capabilities, the iAd network is certainly poised to deliver major results for brands.

“iAds will reach millions of iPhone and iPod touch users—a highly desirable demographic for advertisers—and provide developers a new way to earn money so they can continue developing free and low cost applications,” said Steve Jobs.

Vitrue is a member of the iPhone Developer Program and we are expanding our platform to include support for iAd JS (the API for iAd development). Vitrue customers today can execute cohesive social initiatives across Facebook and Twitter; and very shortly add mobile social initiatives with iAds. Marketers and Agencies using the Vitrue platform realize time and expense savings, have access to cutting edge social technology and can leverage the industry’s most powerful management tools.

Are you as excited about iAds as we are? Drop us a note in the comments below, and join the conversation.

  • Share/Bookmark

The f8 of Social Marketing with Facebook’s Open Graph

Thursday, April 22nd, 2010

There was much excitement at this year’s f8 (Facebook developer conference). As inaugural members of Facebook’s Preferred Developer Consultant Program, our team was there first hand with Facebook to see the latest and greatest. We’re excited to share the news from the platform team and help marketers understand what’s in store for them.

Social Plugins

Whitehouse.gov:


Discovery.com:

Social plugins enable developers to integrate Facebook features on websites or micro-sites, similar to Facebook Connect. Since these plugins are hosted by Facebook they do not require users to authenticate to your site as Connect does. Let’s review some of the plugins:

Activity Feed - displays a stream of activity about a domain like “vitrue.com” based on likes, comments and shares. If the users happens to be logged into Facebook the stream will show personalized content, i.e. from your friends. In the example on the right we see the latest activity from whitehouse.gov. Note that volume of Recent Activity for a major marketer may far exceed the available real estate in this box.

Recommendations - gives users personalized suggestions for pages and content on your website or micro-site. Similar to the Activity Feed, but this is more about popularity and if you are logged into Facebook the recommendation engine will use data from your friends. In the example on the right, we see recommendations for Discovery.com - content publishers will likely find this plugin useful.

Live Stream - just like the Fan Box this plugin has been available from Facebook for a while. You can see it in action from this prior Coke Zero event we live streamed - http://countdown.cokezero.com/.

Comments - one of the more interesting plugins, adds Facebook connected comments to any webpage or microsite. This is very similar to the Vitrue SRM’s Twitter Pages (example: Join(RED), CNN/Dr. Gupta). Comments can be posted back to the user’s Wall entering the social graph. I activated the Facebook comments at the bottom of this post. Give them a try.

Like Box - nothing new here except a name. This is the same plugin formally know as the Fan box. Like Box allows users to “like” your Facebook Page thereby making that valuable brand to fan connection. This is different from the Like Button, as explained below. On the right you will see a Like Box for one of my favorite lunch spots, Ted’s Montana Grill.

Like Button - similar to the Like Box, the Like Button lets users “like” a specific link, item or object. These “connections” go back into the Social Graph and to the user’s friends. The plugin will show how many of your friends “like” the object. In the example on the right, we are displaying a Like Button for the popular ABC show called Modern Family. Objects can also be tagged with meta data - see Open Graph Protocol below.

Open Graph Protocol

Facebook also announced the Open Graph protocol enabling websites to integrate into the social graph. The previously mentioned Like Button leverages the Open Graph protocol. Basically it allows web-pages, items or objects to be tagged with meta data to categorize, label and display information about the object within the social graph. The four required properties are title, type, image, and URL.

Graph API

The Graph API is the core of Facebook Platform, enabling us to read and write data to Facebook. It provides a simple and consistent view of the social graph, uniformly representing objects (e.g., people, photos, events, and pages) and the connections between them (e.g., friendships, likes, and photo tags). We are excited about the added functionality and Vitrue’s platform is well positioned to help marketers..

Authentication

Lastly, Facebook authentication formally known as Facebook Connect now offers improvements such as single-sign on across web, mobile, and desktop apps.

To wrap up, we would like to thank Facebook for hosting a truly amazing event. Now more than ever marketers should invest and grow their Facebook strategy; From fan growth strategies with Facebook Ads, to Wall Publishing strategies with the Vitrue SRM to Tab/Experience strategies with the Vitrue FMS - Vitrue has the most comprehensive marketing platform on the most valuable and relevant social network.

ps. Don’t forget to leave a comment, this is your chance to see Facebook’s Social Plugin Comments in action.
(more…)

  • Share/Bookmark

I Like You, I Just Don’t Love You

Wednesday, April 21st, 2010

…or how Facebook is redefining the Fanatic.

By now I’m sure you’ve seen the latest update to Facebook Pages. It’s out with the “Fans” and in with the “Likes.” Facebook Pages are no longer using the term “fan” to define the connection between a user and the brand/Page owner. The more accepted term “like” is being used in it’s place. Here’s a couple of reasons this makes sense, and what marketers need to do.

First, clicking “Like” rather than “Become a Fan,” creates a lighter declaration for a user. According to Dictionary.com, fan is short for fanatic; meaning an enthusiastic devotee, follower, or admirer of a sport, pastime, celebrity, etc. “Like” allows users to make connections with Pages without claiming to be a devotee. It’s easy to tell your date you “like” them rather than you “love” them.

Second, the “like” action is easy and familiar for users. After all according to Facebook stats, users click “like” more than twice as much as the “Become a fan” button each month. This is likely a key step in preparing the world for the Open Graph API where fans can “like” any web page not just a Facebook Page.

The Open Graph API will allow any page on the Web to have all the features of a Facebook Page – users will be able to become a Fan of the page, it will show up on that user’s profile and in search results, and that page will be able to publish stories to the stream of its fans.

Previously the fan box had only one set of thumbnails and a couple of them would always display one of your friends.  Now there is a separate list of thumbnails on top which lists “Friends who also like this”, which is much better. This mimics the “mutual friends” function from personal profiles, which is a very powerful tool. I know that before I accept a friend request from somebody I ALWAYS look at mutual friends. The overall net effect of this change could result greater personal endorsement for brand pages from your friends.

Lastly, marketers shouldn’t change their Fan growth strategy “People Like This” growth strategy. Growing your connections will still be important, and the functionality of your wall and users’ newsfeed will not change. Remember the Wall has 110 times more reach than your page, and leveraging this channel is extremely valuable. Worst case scenario, some marketers may need to update copy; replacing “fan” with “like” - just don’t call them Likers.

Questions, concerns? Leave a comment and join the conversation.

  • Share/Bookmark

$3.60 Facebook Fan Valuation Is Just the Tip of the Iceberg

Wednesday, April 14th, 2010

What’s the value of a Facebook Fan? - a question we are asked every day. Savvy marketers continue to invest substantial sums in building a presence on social networks like Facebook and Twitter.  They clearly see the Return on Investment (ROI), and we want to help you understand some of the reasons why.  So we developed the first-ever published Facebook fan valuation (also covered in this Adweek article)

According to our research a Facebook Page with 1 million fans is worth a minimum of $3.6 million in earned media annually. Honestly that’s just the tip of the iceberg as I’ll explain.

Let’s explore how we developed the Fan valuation.

Vitrue manages over 45 million fans and sampled data across varying pages from digital entertainment to retail to B2B to CPG to publishers to quick serve restaurants—in order to determine a wall post impression to Fan ratio. In other words, how many impressions can a single wall post receive? To our surprise we learned the average was approximately 1:1 (0.96:1 to be exact).

This means our 1 million Fan Facebook Page can average 1 million impressions with a single post to the wall. Factor frequency; a two post per day strategy would garner approximately 60 million impressions per month. Now here’s a metric all marketers are familiar with - we’ve been buying impressions since the dawn of the Internet.

These impressions are practically free, similar to earned media - that we are all familiar with. So our last step is to place a CPM value to our earned media. We factored a very conservative $5 CPM - how much would you pay for highly targeted impressions?

This final assumption gives our 1 million fan page $300,000 in earned media per month or $3.6 million annually.

1M impressions x 2 posts x 30 days = 60M impressions
60M impressions / 1000 x $5 CPM = $300,000

So there you have it: a simple valuation using metrics every marketer is familiar with. But that’s not all. Facebook wall posts have social engagement such as clicks, comments, likes, plays and shares. Wall Apps such as a coupon or a poll offer even greater levels of engagement. Brands engaging their Fans stand to earn much more value, potentially doubling or tripling these estimates.

Are you feeling short on fans? I hope this simple valuation helps you see the importance of a Facebook Fan acquisition strategy. One of the fastest ways to grow your Fan base is with Facebook Ads. You can also leverage Fan exclusive content/offers and deploy engaging apps.

Are you lacking a daily wall post strategy? Are your posts garnering maximum engagement? Vitrue works with marketers large and small to maximize ROI from the Facebook wall. The Vitrue SRM (Facebook publishing system) enables your marketing team to create and schedule a daily wall post strategy. Marketers can create eye-popping posts with video, images, audio and even apps that will maximize your Fan engagement. Comprehensive reporting gives you realtime metrics on clicks, comments, likes, plays, shares and app engagements.

Are you maximizing your ROI on Facebook? What strategies are you using to grow your Fan base? What’s your posting frequency? Leave a comment and join the conversation.

  • Share/Bookmark

Facebook Enhances Fan Page Moderation for the Vitrue SRM

Thursday, February 25th, 2010

presentation6Over a year ago Vitrue introduced a comprehensive Facebook wall management suite called the Vitrue Social Relationship Manager (SRM). Since its launch the Vitrue SRM has consistently brought first-to-market features for marketers, agencies and publishers. First to offer Facebook scheduling. First to offer custom landing pages for Twitter. First to publish video and audio posts in the Facebook Page stream. First to help brands moderate their Facebook Wall comments. First to leverage Facebook’s GEO-targeted wall posts. Now the Vitrue SRM is first to offer Fan Post moderation.

Just yesterday we were informed about an API change from our partners at Facebook aimed to help the Vitrue SRM’s page moderation. In the past, the Facebook API has allowed applications like the Vitrue SRM to remove comments from Facebook Page posts, but not remove the Fan post themselves. We are excited about the change and have already updated our platform to support it.

As noted, the Vitrue SRM provides easy, powerful and comprehensive Facebook Page moderation by seamlessly integrating flagged items through an administrative dashboard. All user comments are screened and flagged if matches are found in our inappropriate language and spam filters.

Facebook Page moderation can also be tailored for the brand with custom word filters. These are ideal for competitive keywords, campaign keywords, product conversations, or anything relevant to your social media vernacular. Facebook Page marketers can take action from the dashboard to immediately remove a Fan post or comment and with a simple interface for contextual review.

The Vitrue SRM has been developed with the largest and most successful brands on Facebook and Twitter. Vitrue’s platform is built for scale, serving over 21 million fans and growing fast. Vitrue’s innovation and expertise comes from managing this tremendous fan base. Leading social media innovation with easy-to-use tools like moderation from the Vitrue SRM, marketers, publishers and agencies can react in realtime and drive engagement in a brand-safe environment.

For more information about the Vitrue SRM take a look at our presentation and demo then contact us today and start managing your Facebook Page with the most comprehensive suite, built just for you.

Have a question or comment? Leave a note and join the conversation.

  • Share/Bookmark

Facebook Fan Page Updates Now in Google’s Real-time Search

Thursday, February 25th, 2010

Social Media Managers, your Facebook Page updates are now headed to Google’s real-time search. This is great news for brands using the Vitrue SRM to update their Fan feeds. They will get broader reach and potentially see greater SEO improvements.

Marketers, publishers and agencies who aren’t messaging their fan bases at least daily are missing the boat. If this is you, consider leveraging a publishing suite like the Vitrue SRM, and simplify social media marketing.

More details about Google’s real-time search and Fan pages updates can be read at Inside Facebook

For more information about the Vitrue SRM take a look at our presentation and demo then contact us today and start managing your Facebook Page with the most comprehensive suite, built just for you.

  • Share/Bookmark

Vitrue SRM Findings: Social Click Through Rates for Facebook are Highest on Tuesdays

Tuesday, September 8th, 2009

In partnership with MediaPost, we are excited to release new data insights from the Vitrue Social Relationship Manager, an application suite that allows brands to more easily manage, schedule, publish and measure messaging across Facebook and Twitter.

Vitrue SRM - Social CTR by Day of the Week

Vitrue SRM - Social CTR by Day of the Week

The new data illustrates the effectiveness of Facebook wall posts (in terms of click through) by day of the week. Presented in this chart you will see which days have the highest click through rates. Tuesdays and Wednesdays rank the highest.

Just as insightful is the end of the week where the social click through rates are below average, and in some cases by two-fold.

The sample data reported was compiled from nearly 200 million fans impressions on Facebook pages over a 5 month period (March though August 2009).

Marketers should take note of this data and use it to shape their social messaging strategies, pushing high priority updates out by mid week. As brands drive to amass substantial fan bases of 1 million+ there are tremendous efficiencies and insights to be achieved.  A successful strategy of fan management on Facebook involves a combination of wall posts that optimize CTR, as well as media buys to drive awareness and fan growth.

The Vitrue SRM is built for marketers, helping them effectively integrate into Facebook and Twitter. The Vitrue SRM provides insights to optimize marketing conversations, driving higher retention and participation.

In the coming weeks we will release additional analysis in our ongoing effort to educate social media marketers.

This social CTR by day data comes on the heels of the overall social CTR of 6.49% we announced with Ad Age a few weeks ago. Today’s additional data is holding in the same range and has risen slightly to 6.76%. (powerful findings as our results illustrate social media delivering dramatically higher levels than all other online mediums).

Industry standard data point – according to Quantcast, Facebook had 90,784,177 US people in month of June 2009 with a total of 2,907,453,723 visits - to simplify, on average 32 visits per person. With assumption of 1/12 of total US Facebook audience.

  • Share/Bookmark

Introducing the Vitrue Social Relationship Manager

Tuesday, August 11th, 2009

I’m thrilled to announce the Vitrue SRM (Social Relationship Manager). Marketers can rejoice as managing a Facebook Page and Twitter account has never been easier.

The Vitrue SRM is a web-based application suite that allows brands to more efficiently and effectively manage, schedule and automatically publish across Facebook and Twitter. While providing measurement and real-time analytics, the Vitrue SRM makes managing a brand’s social presence easy, improves fan engagement and increases ROI. You can read the details on the official press release.

I’d like to draw your attention to the implementation of the Facebook stream API for Pages. This API was opened just a few days ago from Facebook and allows applications to update a Page with content such as links, images and status updates. While there’s been limited means of updating a Facebook status (text only), the stream API gives far greater functionality.

The Vitrue SRM is the first built-for-brands solution to use the stream API for Facebook pages. Vitrue SRM marketers can now schedule posts to their Facebook Page in advance and let the Vitrue SRM do the rest. Posts can include photo, video or audio that and will play in the Fan’s news stream.

The Vitrue SRM was built for, and used by, some of the most social brands on the real-time web. Today the product is debuting via a limited access beta program. The full public availability is slated for September. To learn more check out http://srm.vitrue.com

Questions, and thoughts? Leave a comment below and join the conversation…

  • Share/Bookmark